New Year, New Tennis: 2015 So Far

The 2015 Tennis season is now underway, with plenty to look forward to, what has been happening so far in the lead up to the first Grand Slam of the year? I take a look at both the men and women hoping to make a mark on tour.

Abu Dhabi Round-Up:

High Quality Image of Murray Victorious in Abu Dhabi
Murray is the Champion at Abu Dhabi to start the year off in style.

Andy Murray was crowned the champion by default in Abu Dhabi earlier this month. The Scot was due to play world number 1 Novak Djokovic in the final of the exhibition tournament- which featured six of the world’s best players. Novak had to withdraw from the final owing to suffering a fever that day, having beaten Swiss Stan Wawrinka 6-1 6-2 to reach the final. Murray had been in fine form too, defeating a rusty Rafa Nadal 6-2 6-0 in the semi-final, and Feliciano Lopez in 3 sets in his first round.

Off the court, Murray has signed a 4 year deal with clothing company Under Armour for 2015 said to be worth around £15 million, having left Adidas his previous sponsor of five years. Murray will also feature in marketing campaigns for the company, based in Baltimore:

“I am very honoured and excited to be joining Team Under Armour and to help them tell their story globally. They are committed to providing innovative apparel, accessories, and footwear, with an unmatched focus on training and performance.”

Mixed fortunes in the Hopman Cup:

The Hopman Cup is a mixed team event, which takes place in Perth, Australia. This is considered by many as great preparation for the Australian Open in Melbourne, as the temperatures are so similar. Things have been hotting up this week, with temperatures at 40ºC. Some players have been struggling more than others.

Notably Serena Williams, representing the US with John Isner, had to request an on court espresso (see below) while down 0-5 to Italy’s Flavia Pennetta in the women’s singles. She promptly turned around her sluggish start, winning in 3 sets. But Williams has since suffered a crushing first time defeat to young Canadian Eugenie Bouchard, who won 6-2 6-1 in 50 minutes.

Bouchard joked in her post match press conference:

“Maybe she needed another coffee. I know she didn’t play her best. I’m happy I just stayed with it and held my nerve. It’s a good way to start the year – it gives me some confidence.”

Williams appeared confused about the cause of her poor play so early in the year:

“I don’t know what’s wrong with me, I’m so tired. It’s weird. I can’t get my body to move. I feel like I’ve got no energy.It’s a little frustrating because I know I can play two thousand times better.

I’ve been trying to rest up. I did a little gym work, but I just felt depleted. I don’t know why. I don’t know how to describe it.”

Team GB’s Hopman Cup has been successful so far, with a 2-1 win over France. Andy Murray and and Heather Watson teamed up to represent Britain, with Laura Robson absent due to her ongoing recovery from a wrist injury. Robson will also have to miss the Australian Open, not being able to return to the tour until February. She hasn’t played since losing in last year’s Aussie Open first round.

Elsewhere Maria Sharapova’s start to year has also been positive, producing a 6-0 6-1 win over Kazakhstan’s Yaroslava Shvedova in Brisbane. Just what the Russian would’ve wanted after 2 months off the court.

Check back with The Triple Bagel and The Sport Space for everything tennis in the build-up to the Australian Open, a tournament that marks the welcome return of Juan Martin Del Potro to competitive tennis. Thanks for reading, more of the latest soon!

One thought on “New Year, New Tennis: 2015 So Far

Leave a comment